edge

edgeA new year and a renewed commitment to carve out small chunks of studio time each week for drawing. I have the discipline and desire, but lately it feels as though there are greater adversarial forces at work. The flood damage I experienced in that Fall of 2011 put my creativity on hold for several months while I repaired my home and studio…and this year, a similar fate befell my parents. In late October, their home was ruined when Hurricane Sandy tore through the Jersey Shore. Although it is not the home that I grew up in, it was filled with memories of grandchildren at the beach and cruising Barnegat Bay in my Dad’s boat. Fortunately, the structure of the house remained intact and rebuilding has begun in earnest. My Dad has been tireless and my brothers and I have been at the property most every weekend, from demolition to renovation. Much of my time there has been spent under the house, removing waterlogged insulation and damaged electrical wiring while clad in homemade spelunking gear. There is still so much to do, but for one night a week, I can steal away some time, take pen in hand and create an image.

Published in: Uncategorized on January 8, 2013 at 4:11 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theodraws.wordpress.com/2013/01/08/edge-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m so sorry for your & your family’s difficulties with the storms. I’m glad you were able to restore your homes, & I hope getting back to drawing helps restore your spirits. May 2013 bring all sorts of renewal!

  2. Oh yes, I know those adversarial forces very well. But it seems that you are well equipped to win. I wish you a 2013 more peaceful and serene than the last two years.

  3. A common theme indeed – and yours is beautifully done! You made a much better job of the blade than I did.

    I’m sorry to hear you were in a flood-hit zone and have so much damage to your parent’s home. We were at Dewey Beach for the Greyhound Gathering only weeks before Sandy hit and could not believe the pictures we were seeing from there, and around the east coast. We travelled up through Pennsylvania to Boston. If we’d been a few weeks later, we’d have had to give up and come home, I think – if we could have got a flight!

    Good luck with the repairs – and the studio time.

  4. Oh my goodness, I am so sorry to hear about all your hardship. So glad it wasn’t worse! And so happy to hear you will give yourself a little time for IF. The knife is fantastic!

  5. I’m glad to see you back with IF, but sorry to hear about why you’ve been missing. I had my own water disaster a couple years ago http://lindahensley.blogspot.com/2010/07/diary.html, so I know it’s a mess to clean up after water damage. Wishing you and yours the best with it, and wishing you a better 2013!


Leave a Reply

