kernel

Introduced in 1880’s by the Wunderlee Company, Candy Corn was an instant hit. But why design a confection resembling a kernel of corn? It seems ironic to produced vegetable-shaped candies. Would any child today desire brussel sprout gummies or spinach roll ups?

Published in: Uncategorized on May 16, 2012 at 3:25 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theodraws.wordpress.com/2012/05/16/kernel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a fun take on the topic!

    Candy corn always makes me smile, because once my husband bought a bag & hid them all over our apartment like Easter eggs, without saying a word. Kept me giggling for weeks as I discovered them!

    Yes, it’s a bit odd, but Boston Baked Beans are way odder. And better candy corn than candy cigarettes!! I wonder if Swedish Fish consumption in childhood leads to a love of seafood?

  2. I would imagine they would–given enough sugar! Your candy corns are beautiful!

  3. Oh my gosh, I have to have the ones with the chocolate butts. Well, I would eat the orange ones if that was the only option, I suppose. Corn is pretty sweet and not much like brussel sprouts! (Though I like them now that I’ve grown up and know better than to boil them. Eeek.) On the other hand, it would be a candy *shaped* like cute little cabbages, but not actually tasting like it. So yes, kids would eat it. Another lovely pen sketch!

  4. Perfect for “kernel”! There’s something about candy corn that just makes everybody happy. Maybe it’s because they have happy colors or the shape is so elemental? Nice drawing πŸ™‚

  5. Beautiful drawing πŸ™‚ I think the sweet manufacturers are missing a trick with brussel sprout gummies too… as long as they didn’t taste like them! πŸ˜‰

  6. Gorgeous drawing! I don’t think kids or anyone would have a problem eating ANYthing if it was made of sugar. They eat sugar skeletons on Mexico…

  7. Very nicely done and had to laugh at your description, my kids just bought gummies shaped like sunny side up eggs!!


Leave a Reply

