heights

For those that grew up in the Garden State, summer meant time spent at the Jersey Shore. It was a kid’s paradise with sandy beaches and ocean waves framed by a lengthy boardwalk clustered with amusement rides and games of chance. We spent many summer vacations in the town of Seaside Heights, with my father eventually purchasing a small bungalow there when I was about 10. I have great memories of playing at the beach, crabbing off the docks, and going on the thrill rides with siblings. My Dad and I passed through the town recently on a cold and wet day, driving by the old house and even taking a short stroll on the boardwalk. It was depressing. That area is now known more as the home of “Jersey Shore”, the MTV show featuring dysfunctional Italian-American 20 year-olds, and that vibe can be felt up and down the wood-planked walk. It is no longer the place of my youth. However, around the corner from a small stand selling “Free Snooki” T-shirts, there was a familiar and reassuring landmark; Berkeley’s Salt Water Taffy. Although it may be true that you ‘can’t go home again’, if you’re lucky, every once in a while you might just get a small taste of your childhood.

Published in: Uncategorized on April 26, 2012 at 2:32 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theodraws.wordpress.com/2012/04/26/heights/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love that you took the prompt “heights” deep down into personal archaeology! Salt water taffy was a feature of my childhood NC beach experiences too… such a simple treat to evoke so many memories.

  2. The connection is perfect. Great story, full of emotion and very nice illustration!

  3. I like the way you found something personal in the word this week. I love salt water taffy and your drawing of it makes me mouth water!

  4. Yay taffy! (Boo, bad for my teeth.) I also have fond memories of salt water taffy, though I was quite a bit older, and the place was the Santa Cruz Boardwalk in California. It’s sad to think that all those amusement parks and fun outdoor places aren’t appreciated by kids these days. But then I realize I’m old, and I’ve just put “kids these days” in a sentence, so I best stop before I tell them to get off my lawn. 😉

    Another lovely drawing with a very sweet story to go with it. No pun intended. (Well, maybe a bit.)

  5. I have to admit I’m having a Pavlovian response to your drawing. I have happy memories of salt water taffy on the shores of Lake Erie. I’ve got to wonder about all those poor people who live inland, did they get taffy too? Love your post 🙂

  6. I’m soooo behind on blog visits—I totally missed this one last week. It’s gorgeous. I’m sure it’s “sketch-sized” but it’d look beautiful enlarged on a wall. I can just hear that waxed paper as it’s unwrapped.

  7. I love, love, love saltwater taffy. Your shading is perfect too. I also vacation at the Jersey Shore… but way down in Sea Isle; not so many orange tans there.


Leave a Reply

