return

Science has determined that of the five senses, the olfactory has the greatest memory recall. Think of smelling a “fresh from the oven Turkey” and you may find yourself immediately transported to a time of sharing a Thanksgiving meal with family and friends. As an artist however, there are many more visual triggers that stimulate my memory. Seeing a Victorian glass bird ornament, I instantly return to my grandparent’s home with their collection of hand-blown beauties clipped to the branches of a Christmas Tree.

Published in: Uncategorized on April 4, 2012 at 8:24 pm  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theodraws.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/return/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I always liked bird ornaments! For one thing, they can be so colorful and strange, and for another they look like they belong in the tree. Lovely job with this bird. Nice light and dark values.

  2. This is neat, I like the style…is it pencil? I have a bird ornament like this. 🙂

    Rita

    • Thank you for the comment, Rita. My illustrations are pen and ink, specifically a generic Bic pen.

  3. Very nice, is it pencil? I love the style and I have an ornament just like this. 🙂

    Rita

  4. I really love the quality of your sketches.

  5. So charming…and you’re right: these old ornaments are so evocative of a simpler (and more elegant?) time.

  6. Ah, yes. Glass birds and feather trees. Brings back many a happy memory. Lovely rendering, I must say. 🙂

  7. Your drawings are really nice! The bird and the memory are very fitting for the IF- subject.

  8. Your drawings are very soft and delicate. Beautiful and elegant work.


Leave a Reply

