cultivate

The arrival of Spring is a reminder that the Earth is alive.  It is amazing that a simple seed or dried flower bulb can be interred and within a short time, it germinates and grows.

I found this garden tool while antique shopping.  I used to collect Mid-Century period furniture and Murano glass but now I am drawn to older items that have acquired the patina of use.  The well-worn handle of this rusted implement reminded me of an elegant bird’s head with a long beak.

Published in: Uncategorized on March 22, 2011 at 4:10 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theodraws.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/cultivate/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. you’ve a lot of great drawings here, Theo!
    Props!
    -alex

  2. Love it, as always. What kind of paper and pencils do you use, Theo? They work so well together. And I think this tool used to be called a dibber…isn’t that a great name?

    • Thank you for the comment, Sarah, and for identifying the ‘tool’. Dibber is a great name! I must have asked a dozen people yesterday – everyone knew its purpose but they did not know what it was called.

      My current sketchbook is a non-descript pad that I purchased during a recent trip. I believe its some kind of recycled paper but there are no identifying marks or labels. The pen is also utilitarian – a standard BIC pen. My sketchbook materials are rather pedestrian, but I do take certain satisfaction in elevating the tools from their typically mondane use.

  3. As always your work is stunning…… I love the simplicity and consistency in your style… you should exhibit all your illustration friday drawings if you haven’t already…..

  4. What a lovely series of the most simple objects, drawn ever so sensitively.

    My partner uses mostly antique tools in his carpentry business–tools inherited from his father and grandfather, or given to him by friends who inherited them and had no use for them themselves, and I would agree, that they are much more elegant, and have that “patina of use”.

    I really really like these drawings.

  5. A BIC pen?
    You are amazing.
    Love the tool, the magic of its patina, the idea of the plants grown from the hard work that humble tool and its owner did.


Leave a Reply

